Menu
Photo Credit: Tyler Garnham
Photo Credit: Terry Parker
Photo Credit: Tyler Garnham
Photo Credit: Bruce Kirkby
Photo Credit: Bruce Kirkby
Photo Credit: Bruce Kirkby
Photo Credit: Tyler Garnham
Photo Credit: Tyler Garnham
Photo Credit: Tyler Garnham
Photo Credit: Terry Parker

Quick Escapes! Sea Kayaking in Isla Espiritu Santo – Baja

Quick Escapes! Sea Kayaking in Isla Espiritu Santo – Baja

sqBly-004Our four-day expeditions are an excellent introduction to sea kayaking and enable folks with a limited amount of vacation time to still get out and enjoy the Gulf of California’s most beautiful island.

During these trips we paddle for about three hours a day, discovering a new beach to set up camp. This leaves plenty of time free to hike into the interior of the island and explore canyons with amazing rock formations and fascinating plant life. We also have time to snorkel each day and marvel at one of the world’s most diverse ‘natural aquariums.’

There is a choice of Fully Catered and Cooperatively Catered four-day expeditions.

Children under 14 receive 20% discount.

Included

  • Certified bilingual naturalist guides
  • Single and/or double kayaks, all kayaking gear, camping equipment, transportation to and from your La Paz hotel to the island.
  • All food and beverages during expedition

Not Included

  • Sleeping bags
  • Snorkel sets and wet suits may be rented
  • Accommodation–but we’ll be delighted to help make recommendations and reservations for you

Fully Catered Trips

All trip dates listed to the left are Fully Catered: The itinerary remains very much the same since we still paddle from one camp beach to the next. However, a motor boat is utilized each day to carry all the camping gear and provisions leaving you to paddle light empty kayaks. This alleviates the repetitive task of squeezing all your gear into tiny kayak compartments only to unpack again a few hours later. It is also physically easier to paddle a light kayak!

The boat driver and guides will take care of providing you with 3 delicious meals a day and all the cleaning up. A huge bonus is being able to take coolers so that we can offer you ice cold beverages throughout the trip. If the focus of your vacation is not always to kayak you can hitch a ride on the boat with your kayak in tow so you have more time to snorkel, to practice your Spanish or quite simply – to take it easy!

Read on for a description of Cooperatively Catered trips and dates.

Cooperatively Catered Trips

In accordance with the groups dietary requirements, your guides will have already prepared a menu plan and bought the food and beverages. During the trip the guides organize each meal and everyone pitches in to help cook and clean.

All the gear, food and water is carried in our sea-kayaks from one camp site to the next. We have no motor boat support so it is therefore a group task with the support of your guides, to pack and carry everything. Naturally, the rewards lie in the tremendous feeling of self-sufficiency, a bonding team spirit and a marvelous sense of accomplishment. Many would agree that this is the ‘only’ way to do a sea-kayaking expedition.

On our 7 day trip we make a re-supply midweek. So effectively the most we ever carry in our kayaks is 3 days supply of food and water. At the time of re-supply the motor boat takes away our accumulated trash.

These trips range from $585 to $770 USD, taxes included. Here are our 2017-2018 Cooperatively Catered trip dates:

  • Oct 22-25=$585
  • Oct 25-28=$585
  • Nov 5-8=$585
  • Nov 8-11=$585
  • Nov 26-29=$585
  • Nov 29-Dec 2=$585
  • Dec 10-13=$585
  • Dec 13-16=$585
  • Dec 18-21=$650
  • Dec 21-24=$650
  • Dec 24-27=$650
  • Dec 27-30=$650
  • Jan 7-10=$595
  • Jan 10-13=$595
  • Jan 21-24=$595
  • Jan 24-27=$595
  • Feb 11-14=$595
  • Feb 14-17=$595
  • Feb 26-Mar1=$595
  • Mar 1-4=$595
  • Mar 11-14=$625
  • Mar 14-17=$625
  • Mar 25-28=$625
  • Mar 28-31=$625
  • Apr 1-4=$625
  • Apr 8-11=$625
  • Apr 11-14=$625
  • Apr 22-25=$595
  • Apr 25-28=$595

Quick Facts

Cost: $897.24 CAD USD
5% GST tax included, Price range: $695-$770 USD
Duration: 4 Days
Trip Type: Tropical Expedition
Skill Level: Beginner
Rendezvous Point: La Paz, Mexico

  • Trip Cost: $695.00-$770.00 USD
  • Required Skills: Beginner
  • Craft: Kayak

Upcoming Trip Dates

  • Sun Oct 15 - Wed Oct 18, 2017   Book Now
  • Wed Oct 18 - Sat Oct 21, 2017   Book Now
  • Sun Oct 29 - Wed Nov 01, 2017   Book Now
  • Wed Nov 01 - Sat Nov 04, 2017   Book Now
  • Sun Dec 03 - Wed Dec 06, 2017   Book Now
  • Wed Dec 06 - Sat Dec 09, 2017   Book Now
  • Sun Dec 17 - Wed Dec 20, 2017   Book Now
  • Wed Dec 20 - Sat Dec 23, 2017   Book Now
  • Sun Dec 24 - Wed Dec 27, 2017   Book Now
  • Wed Dec 27 - Sat Dec 30, 2017   Book Now
  • Sun Dec 31 - Wed Jan 03, 2018   Book Now
  • Wed Jan 03 - Sat Jan 06, 2018   Book Now
  • Sun Jan 14 - Wed Jan 17, 2018   Book Now
  • Wed Jan 17 - Sat Jan 20, 2018   Book Now
  • Wed Jan 31 - Sat Feb 03, 2018   Book Now
  • Wed Feb 07 - Sat Feb 10, 2018   Book Now
  • Wed Feb 21 - Sat Feb 24, 2018   Book Now
  • Sun Mar 04 - Wed Mar 07, 2018   Book Now
  • Wed Mar 07 - Sat Mar 10, 2018   Book Now
  • Sun Mar 18 - Wed Mar 21, 2018   Book Now
  • Sat Mar 24 - Sat Mar 24, 2018   Book Now
  • Sun Apr 01 - Wed Apr 04, 2018   Book Now
  • Wed Apr 04 - Sat Apr 07, 2018   Book Now
  • Sun Apr 15 - Wed Apr 18, 2018   Book Now
  • Wed Apr 18 - Sat Apr 21, 2018   Book Now
  • Sun Apr 29 - Mon Apr 02, 2018   Book Now

To get more information or book a date call us at 1-800-297-6927

Helpful Links

These are Helpful Links!

Itinerary

Typical itinerary:

Note: This itinerary is likely to be reversed when joining a trip that starts on a Wednesday. It is also probable that we will paddle down the east side of the island.

Day 1: You’ll transfer from your hotel in La Paz to Espiritu Santo Island in our high- speed motorboat. The guides will discuss points on safety and provide beginners with the basics of sea kayaking and correct use of gear and kayaks. In the afternoon we embark on our first paddle beneath spectacular volcanic cliffs and arrive at the first of many beautiful beaches to set up camp.

Day 2: We continue in our kayaks, exploring a new section of coastline with small offshore islands where numerous sea birds nest. We’ll camp on a new beach.

Day 3: Today we complete our voyage to the end of the island. It will be our final night camping on the island.

Day 4: We’ll take a fast motorboat ride to a beautiful offshore island, which is home to a large sea lion colony. Experience the amazing thrill of swimming with sea lion pups and snorkel amongst thousands of tropical fish. We’ll have lunch back at camp and then pack up to return to La Paz by mid-afternoon.

Get More Information

Award Winning Adventures

National Geographic Adventure rated us one of "The Best Adventure Travel Companies on Earth."

Request a Catalogue

Get a FREE full-colour print copy of our Adventure Package. Request Package >

Subscribe

Canada 150

Contact Us

Questions?

Toll-free: 1-800-297-6927
Email: info@nahanni.com